top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly Otremba

Week Thirteen.

Woodfire. Woodfire. Woodfire. sleepy. eepy. peepy. This was a long week. We fired off the fourth woodfire since I’ve been at IUS; at this point I feel like we’ve got it down to a pretty manageable rhythm. I love woodfiring, not to get all corny and “stereotypical potter” on ya but after we fire it off I get a little reset. (I'm using the word “reset” not “rebirth” because that's way too cringy. But you get the idea.) I’m exhausted but I feel good about what's coming next. 


I hope everything comes out of the kiln well. I won't be there for the unload, and if the rice hulls don’t work and it's fused to the wasters at least I won't be there for the immediate wave of failure. I’ll be in MN playing with my nephews and nothing else will matter. I am curious to see where the ring of worms went and if it will survive somehow. Because the lil Hikidashi moment didn’t happen, I’ll just have to get my ass in gear for a raku soon to get that fix. 


OOOH! They got Randal up! I’m so excited to apply the extruded-segment-building-method to a larger scale. The little guys are fine. I just have been itching to build big.


List Goals for the end of the semester/winter break/sometime in the near future:

-Finish the woodfire piece if it comes out of the kiln nice. 

-Make some fast work for a raku.- rollie pollies, a redemption worm ring, maybe some planters?

-Work on the next pedes. - I think I want to go a bit more fantastical with them 

-Make some slip cast molds. - Centipede leg cup and worm wares

-Sculpt some cockroaches to cast in bronze.




bottom of page