top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly Otremba

Week Nine, Spring 2024

Updated: Mar 9

The new small leg molds have been working great! I am able to pop them out quickly and I spent a lot of time making them this week. I did the math for this new project and I will need at least 120 legs of the first “centipede” and another 120ish for the larger “centipede” so having made molds that make the process faster is perfect. I had hoped to get the “baby” monster finished and drying by the time we leave for nceca but realistically I don't think that will happen. My new goal is to have everything ready for assembly so by the time we get back I can build it in a few days. 


We made progress on the little tripod thing for the large extruder, all that needs to be done is some grinding and welding, then it should be operational, which will be perfect timing for when I will be ready to start building the large monster. 


We had a last min make-a-thon for empty bowls where we watched DUNE part one. It was a fun evening and I made my quota of bowls which is nice to have out of the way. (I mean besides having to clean them up and add some worms.) 


I also played around with this idea of a centipede leg cup that I want to make a slip cast mold for. I had tried to make all the legs using a press mold, assemble them all together, and make the mold out of that, but with how perfect I want the spacing and such I quickly realized that it wouldn't work that way. So I designed a new print that will serve as the base of this cup that I plan on making modifications to using my plasticine clay.  






bottom of page