top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly Otremba

Blog #14, Spring 2024

Empty Bowls was a success! I was honestly blown away at how well we did considering how chaotic it felt throwing it together! I'm excited for next year, hopefully we can organize enough ahead of time for a ramen bar or something. 


Progress on works have been trudging along. Painted the stand - not the biggest fan of its surface so I might do something else over the dark brown; that might have to happen after crit. But I plan to get it all standing and have the wax clay sculpted to be place holders for the bronze. The raku for the circle went well, as it it didn't break, but the glaze was a little uneven so I’m going to fire it again soon. The stand for it is in the beginning stages of being constructed. Tile work is more math than I wanted, but I am excited for this stand already! 


The most recent centipede monster came out of the kiln with only some surface cracks on leg/body connections and only one tip of a leg fell off. IT STANDS ON ITS OWN!!! WITHOUT SUPPORTS! Its crazy how amazing ceramic is.




bottom of page