top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly Otremba

Week Eight, Spring 2024

Another busy week, although I didn’t touch clay much. I did clean up enough centipede segments so I can get started on building the next project. I designed and printed new leg molds, this time they are smaller (I want to be able to put four legs on each segment) and two different leg orientations. I Installed some work in my friends house for that underground, mostly speed staff and former speed staff exhibition. It was chaotic helping them pull it together last min, but the opening was on Friday and it was really fun. We had been talking about having a speed staff show for a long time and we hope to do another one that will hopefully be up longer and open to the public but it was a really special exhibition just for us. 


Jeff Campanas’ visit was awesome. It was cool to see how he makes his mold, in every step of the process. It's definitely got me thinking about how I could potentially be making things in the future. It also was really nice talking to him at Southern Crossings, he had some really sweet things to say about my work, that felt super validating. We talked about grad school and how I am only looking at programs that have both a good ceramics department but also a working foundry, ideally with plenty of women and people of color working in that department. Jeff had a lot to say about how there are definitely art foundries out there where I wouldn't be treated like I am at the Falls. He said he would reach out to a few people he knows in metals to see if there are any programs I should look into. 


And then Saturday was the Speed Ball and I can’t wait to quit. 



bottom of page